January entry: fail

Sort of. These ten days were challenging and intense, and i don’ t regret them.

I wasn’t able to complete my game before the end of January.

I made a lot of things on these ten days, let’ s not misunderstand. i made almost all the graphics assets, animations included ( yay!) and the game mechanics are sort of completed at this point. But there are a lot of things missing.

To begin with, too few enemy types. i wanted at least another type of enemy on the game, to make it more interesting. i had no time

Then there was no UI, but that wasn’t  t a major problem. making some text based UI isn’ t difficult after all.

I can’ t really say if yesterday i could have done all the sound and music assets. It had to be yesterday, because the other days i was completely packed with coding and drawing.

I even wanted to add a boss, but guess what? no time at all

I could pass these things, true. i could pack what i have, and use it as my January entry. but yesterday night i thought that the game could have a lot of more potential ( at least for me) if done right. so , at 4:00 i am, i gave up the idea to submit the game and went to bed. and man, what a sound sleep i had !

wooosh!

So, why was i on these situation? well, it seems i forgot a bunch of things i learned on my first ludum dare:

first of all, i overestimated how much i could do in ten days. what i did, the isometric graphic, was something to completely new to me. i had a lot of things to learn on the road, like (lol) drawing isometric sprites, make animations make a proper collision detection, etc… the good thing is that i succeeded on the task, and i can use this game as a reference for my future isometric games. the bad thing is that the task of doing while learning was really time consuming.

then, there’s my ability to use JavaScript  It seems it’ s pretty bad.while this time it was more easy find bugs ( the console is my best friend ), i was still attached to the false and misleading idea that java(or any other OOL) and JavaScript have similarities beyond some of the syntax  this is a huge plague when you try to implement things that in OOL are normal, because in java they aren’t ! the result: there’ s a lot of really bad code in my game. there were a lot of shortcuts i could have used to make the coding process more fast, and instead the code , in most parts is really redundant.

if i hope to be a better JavaScript programmer, i need a lot more dedication on it’ s study, to find out how good JavaScript code is done.

Lastly i think, i badly managed my work, and how i felt about it. I mean, these days were fulfilling, exciting, interesting , a lot of things, but the adjective i will remember the most will be “stressing”. i wanted to do a lot of things in very few time, so i packed my days just working on it, even at late night. i even did a all nighter.

That was really detrimental.  Sure , the first days were  pretty ok , but slowly my hype lowered, and left space to stress and nervousness . it was still something i gladly did, but it worked against my focus and my performance.

to anybody reading this. how do you handle this situation? with what mindset do you approach your work?

Rispondi

